was the site of the Royal Mews in the sixteenth century, and
was later known as Davidson's Close and Laurence
The picturesque White Horse Close acquired its current name when Ord rebuilt
the existing tenement and erected an Inn, which he named in honour of Queen Mary's
1745 the inn acted as a headquarters for Jacobite officers,
while Bonnie Prince Charlie resided at Holyrood Palace.
close was also once home to William Dick (1793-1866),
who founded the Royal School of Veterinary Studies in